Call for CMS Board of Directors Nominations

On behalf of The College Music Society Nominations Committee, I invite you to help identify members who will provide national leadership in the coming years. At the present time, the committee is seeking nominations, including self-nominations, for four offices:

Vice President (2023-2025)
Board Member for Ethnomusicology (2023-2025)
Board Member for Music Theory (2023-2025)
Board Member for Musicology (2023-2025)

The nominations process is critical to the future of CMS. We seek leaders with broad experiences, abilities, and passions in regard to music and higher education. Your input is critical and I hope that you will take the time to forward your recommendations. Please complete the nominations form linked here. We welcome all nominations, including self-nominations, anytime by the deadline of February 19, 2022. Please note that nominees must be members of The College Music Society, and no CMS member may serve more than two terms in the same office at the national or regional levels.

The Nominations Committee will present a slate of nominees to the Board of Directors in late spring 2022; a ballot with final candidates will be presented to the membership in mid- to late-August, and the election will be held soon thereafter.

For information regarding responsibilities of Board members and officers, please see the Board Member information page.

Thank you for your willingness to participate in this vital work.

Teryl Dobbs, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Music Education, University of Wisconsin—Madison
CMS 2022 Nominations Committee Chair