Student Chapters

The mission of the student chapter is to "examine issues relating to the contemporary professional lives of student musicians and future educators." The mission statement is broad, and it allows students the opportunity to develop forums, seminars, workshops, and panels on topics of importance to their professional lives. A collegiate chapter allows students the chance to be involved immediately in important professional considerations and both undergraduate and graduate students have the opportunity to have their voice heard. Student chapters also serve the distinct purpose of educating others on their campuses, serving to challenge CMS's youngest CMS members.

Three interested students and a faculty advisor who are each members of The College Music Society are required to form a student chapter. The group must formally organize according to the guidelines below and should meet regularly. To assist in the process, the CMS Council on Student Concerns has developed the following three useful documents:

Questions related to CMS Student Chapters should be directed to Peter Park, CMS Director of Professional Activities.

Join in the CMS Student Chapter effort so that the organization might serve its students more effectively!


CMS Student Chapters
2020–2021 Academic Year

as of May 26, 2020

Appalachian State University
     President: Rob McCormac
     Vice President: David Harris
     Secretary: Thommassaht Nhouyvanisvong
     Faculty Advisor: Jennifer Snodgrass

North Dakota State University
President: Floyd Althoff
     Vice President: TBD
     Secretary: Lauren Craig
     Faculty Advisor: Kyle Vanderburg

Northern Virginia Community College (NOVA)
President: Ameer Yaqoob
     Vice President: TBD
     Secretary: TBD
     Faculty Advisor: Jonathan Kolm

University of Delaware
President: Hannah Scarborough
     Vice President: Rachel Shapiro
     Secretary: Spencer Simpson
     Faculty Advisor: Maria Purciello

Valparaiso University
     President: Caitlyn Perry
     Vice-President: Victoria Pankow
     Secretary: Ahnnabella Kolacki
     Faculty Advisor: Ericka Grodrian

An annual report must be assembled by the president of each student chapter and submitted by email to Peter Park, CMS Director of Professional Activities, no later than May 15 of each year. The report form may be found here. Prior to submission, this report must be approved by the chapter’s faculty advisor. Chapters that fail to submit a report for two consecutive years will be considered inactive and will be removed from the above roster.