36th Great Lakes Regional Conference
April 6-7, 2018
Otterbein University
Westerville, Ohio

    Conference Schedule


    Program Notes

    Presenter Bios

    Composer & Performer Bios


All persons who derive professional benefit from attending a CMS conference (1) must hold current membership in CMS and (2) are required to register. This includes anyone whose name appears in the program: all accompanists, composers, panelists, and presenters. Likewise, any presenter who connects to the conference as by electronic means (e.g., Skype) must hold current membership and register for the event. Co-authors of research papers must register for, and attend, the conference for their name to be listed in the program.

Performers on concerts of works by CMS composers are not required to be members or pay registration fees unless these persons plan to attend conference sessions in addition to the one in which they are presenting or performing. In this case, they are expected to pay the registration fee accordingly.

At its discretion, the Program Committee may exempt from the membership and registration fee requirements specific individuals, such as invited speakers or guest panelists who are non-music professionals. It is the responsibility of the individual who submitted the proposal to, upon acceptance, make conference planners aware of all non-music professionals involved in their presentation and to request such an exemption.


  • noon Mountain Time on Monday, January 22: Registration Deadline: All presenters, performers, panelists, collaborative pianists, & composers whose works will be performed on the program must register to confirm their participation.

  • Thursday, March 15: Mail-in Registrations must be postmarked by this date.

  • noon Mountain Time on Thursday, March 15: Online registration closes. Participants must register on site after this date.


The conference registration fee allows admission to all conference sessions. CMS members should log into the website prior to registering to obtain the member rate.

Advance Registration (fees apply through noon Mountain Time on March 15):
Non-Member: $125
CMS Member: $65
CMS Student Member: $40
CMS Retired Member: $40

On-Site Registration (fees apply after 12:01 pm Mountain Time on March 15):
Non-Member: $145
CMS Member: $85
CMS Student Member: $60
CMS Retired Member: $60


noon Mountain Time on Thursday, March 15: Cancellations received before noon Mountain Time will be entitled to a full refund, less a $10 handling & processing charge. Registrations cancelled after 12:01 p.m. Mountain Time will not be entitled to a refund. Registrations are non-transferable.

Fairfield Inn and Suites Columbus/Polaris
9000 Worthington Road
Westerville OH 43082
(614) 568-0770
   * This is a 7-minute drive to campus

CMS Rate: $104 per night + 15.6% tax
* Includes breakfast and free shuttle to campus

How to Reserve: Call the hotel and reference the CMS conference.
Deadline: Reservations must be made by Thursday, March 8, 2018.

Courtyard Columbus Worthington

7411 Vantage Dr.
Columbus, OH 43235
   * This is a 12-minute drive to campus

CMS Rate: $79 per night + 17.5% tax
   * Does not include breakfast

How to Reserve: Call Marriott Reservations at 1 (800) 321-2211 or (614) 436-7070 and identify yourself as part of the Otterbein University Music Department Block group staying at the Courtyard Columbus Worthington.

Deadline: Reservations must be made on or before Thursday, March 15, 2018.

Please contact Dr. Nick Ross at [email protected] or 614-823-1020 if you encounter difficulties with your room reservation.

The conference location is:
Battelle Fine Arts Center
Otterbein University
170 W. Park Street
Westerville OH 43082


From 270 North, exit at Rt. 3 North (Westerville). Drive north on State Street, and turn left on Park Street. Drive west on Park Street and you will see the Battelle Fine Arts Center on your
right before a sharp curve.

On this map, Battelle Fine Arts Center is building 14.

On Friday, we will have parking (for those not using a shuttle from Fairfield Inn) at the Point, number 2 on the map (NB on older maps, this is called Collegeview Center). As you can see
there is a short walk involved to get to our building. The other option is to park on surrounding streets or in Uptown Westerville. Parking limit in some places is four hours, but often parking is unlimited.

The Dutch Treat dinner on Friday night is a short walk from campus at:
Koblé Grill
7 N. State St.
Westerville OH, 43081

On Saturday, we may park freely on campus, it is recommended that everyone parks in the lots next to Battelle, number 5 or 14 on the map. Parking is free and open during weekends at

Lunch on Saturday will take place at the Campus Center, #44 on the map.


Marilyn ShrudeMarilyn Shrude, Composer 

The music of composer Marilyn Shrude is characterized by its warmth and lyricism, rich timbre, multi-layered constructions, and complex blend of tonality and atonality. The result is a bright, shimmering and delicately wrought sound world that is at once both powerful and fragile (Natvig – New Grove).

Shrude earned degrees from Alverno College and Northwestern University, and has served on the faculty of Bowling Green State University since 1977. Among her more prestigious honors are those from the Guggenheim Foundation, American Academy of Arts and Letters, Rockefeller Foundation, Chamber Music America/ASCAP, Meet the Composer, Sorel Foundation (Medallion Winner for Choral Music 2011), and the National Endowment for the Arts. She was the first woman to receive the Kennedy Center Friedheim Award for Orchestral Music and the Cleveland Arts Prize for Music. In 2014 she was given BGSU’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Active as a composer, pianist, teacher, and contemporary music advocate, Shrude has consistently promoted American music through her many years as founder and director of the MidAmerican Center for Contemporary Music (1987-99), as chair of the Department of Musicology/Composition/Theory at BGSU (1998-2011) and as coordinator of the doctoral program in contemporary music (2006-present). Together with saxophonist, John Sampen, she has premiered, recorded and presented hundreds of works by living composers both in the United States and abroad.



Questions regarding this conference should be directed to:
Susan Piagentini, 2018 CMS-GL Program Chair