Nominations for CMS Officers

Dear CMS Colleagues, 

On behalf of The College Music Society, we invite you to help identify members who will provide national leadership in the coming years. As our Society continues to strive to lead change in institutions of music higher education and to adopt whole-heartedly the values of a decisively anti-racist organization, we especially seek the insight of those committed to these principles. At the present time, CMS seeks nominations, including self-nominations, for the following offices:

  1. President-Elect
  2. Treasurer
  3. Board Member-at-Large
  4. Board Member for Jazz & Commercial Music
  5. Board Member for Music Industry
  6. Board Member for Music Education
  7. Board Member for Music Performance

Each position serves a term that lasts from January 1, 2025 to December 31, 2027 (with the exception of the President-Elect, who will serve a term from 2025-2026, followed by two years as President, and one subsequent year as Immediate Past-President).

The nomination process is critical to the future of CMS. The organization seeks leaders with broad experiences, adaptability, and passion in regard to music and higher education who will guide CMS as we challenge ourselves to improve the ways in which we engage with our membership at large. Your input is critical and we hope that you will take the time to forward your recommendations by completing the nominations form linked here. We welcome all nominations, including self-nominations, anytime by the deadline of April 4, 2024. Please note that nominees should be members of The College Music Society (or possess the ability and intention to join before nomination confirmation), and each position follows a two-term limit for consecutive service. We encourage nominations for those with all levels of service experience who desire to work to ensure the longevity, sustainability, and accessibility of CMS as an organization.

The Nominations Committee will present a slate of nominees to the Board of Directors in late Spring 2024, and a ballot with final candidates will be presented to the membership in mid- to late-August, with the election held soon thereafter.

Thank you for your willingness to participate in this vital work.


Jeffrey Loeffert
Executive Director
The College Music Society


Hannah Pearson
Director of Operations
The College Music Society