CMS Fund Awardees for 2015-2016

Thanks to the gifts of many friends and members of The College Music Society who have made these awards possible, The CMS Fund is delighted to announce the following awardees:

Community Engagement Seed Grant Awards

Noah Getz, American University
Contemporary East Music Series

Thomas J. Keman, Chicago College of Performing Arts at Roosevelt University
Performing Social Justice: Chicago College of Performing Arts Student Project Grants

John Mortensen, Cedarville University
Traditional Irish Music: Out of the Classroom and into the Community

Teresa M. Nakra, College of New Jersey
Trenton Makes Music – Cultural Memory, Identity and Economic Development

Christy Talbot, University of Wisconsin-Sheboygan
Sheboygan Singing Consortium

Nikolasa Tejero, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Symphonic Tales: A Music and Literacy Program for Young Children


CMS-Yamaha In-Residence Awards

Timothy Hall, University of South Carolina
Ukulele Orchestra, University Music Students, and Local Jazz Legends

Nathan Noeyack, Butler University
Butler-Broad Ripple Bassoon Project


Robby D. Gunstream Education in Music Award

Cassandra Eisenreich, Slippery Rock University
SRU Community Engagement Initiative: Learning Enhanced Through Music


CMS Instructional Technology Initiative Award

Kim Davenport, University of Washington-Tacoma
Online Music Appreciation Courses for a Diverse Student Body


The CMS Fund extends contratulations to all awardees for 2015-2016!